Hi,
What is the reasoning for allowing a user to share a public link of a certain model?
I was looking together with my colleague a little earlier today. For one model he was able to share a public link. When changing the expiration date though he got a message that he wasn’t allowed to change that. But it showed the changed value.
For the second model he got the not-allowed message as soon as trying to enable the public sharing.
When looking myself (as project/model owner) I notice that the first model has been set up for sharing by me in the past, with indefinite access.
The second model wasn’t yet shared publicly so I enabled it.
It looks as if a person who has read-only access (not viewer), the user can share an already created link (presumably with the settings as they are). But not create a new link for sharing.
To me this feels wrong. I’d say that a person who is not allowed to download a model should also not be able to send a link to this model to anyone without access. Even though the link already exists.
=> I’d propose to change the behaviour so that public sharing is linked to the same access rights as downloading. It makes sense from a user perspective. Either someone can share (the link trough Qonic or the file from exporting it), or someone can’t do both.